top of page

Back to Country with "The Breaker"

"The Breaker" is the new album by award-winning quartet Little Big Town, released on February 24. Less than one year after their album "Wanderlust," which was produced by Pharell Williams and was more pop than country, they return to their country roots. It's their eighth album since they formed the group in 1998. The album was released via Capitol Nashville and produced by Jay Joyce, who also produced Little Big Town's "Pain Killer" and has written songs for Little Big Town and Keith Urban.

With key tracks like "Happy People," written by Lori McKenna, "Free" and "Beat Up Bible" the album shows the strengths of the country group, which have been among others heavier adult-oriented ballads. "The Breaker" is an album full of ballads, in which Karen Fairchild and Jimi Westbrook take the lead. The title track "Better Man" on "The Breaker" was written by Taylor Swift, her first time to pitch a song to another artist.

The chief concerns of this album are embracing and appreciating the here and now while looking wistfully at the past. "Better Man" is a bittersweet breakup song. Another ending relationship song for your next heartbreaking moment is "When Someone Stops Loving You." But the album's not only wistful. With "Night on Our Side" and the atmospheric "Lost in California" Little Big Town show their impeccable harmonies.

After the release of the album the band announced a residency at the Ryman Auditorium in Nashville until November 2017, called "Little Big Town at the Mother Church."

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
bottom of page